COB announces bishops' assignments to agencies, boards

For Immediate Release
Thursday, November 7, 2019

LAKE JUNALUSKA, N.C. – The Council of Bishops has announced the assignment of bishops to the boards and agencies of The United Methodist Church for 2020-2024 quadrennium.  Here are the assignments:
Connectional Table Chair Mande Muyombo
Archives & History Peggy Johnson
New Central Conference bishop
Church and Society Daniel Lunge
LaTrelle Easterling
Sue Haupert-Johnson
3 new bishops
Communications John Wesley Yohanna
New U.S. bishop
Discipleship Ministries Mark Webb
Harald Rückert
Finance & Administration Minerva Carcaño
David Graves
Global Ministries Peter Torio
Joaquina Nhanala
Ruben Saenz
Jonathan Holston
Karen Oliveto
Higher Education & Ministry Sandra Steiner Ball
Eduard Khegay
Laurie Haller
WesPath (Pension & Health) Paul Leeland
Robert Schnase                                                         
Religion & Race Cynthia Moore-Koikoi
New Central Conference bishop
Status & Role of Women Tracy Malone
Samuel Quire
United Methodist Men Gary Mueller
Kasap Owan
Leonard Fairley
UM Publishing House Gregory Palmer
New Central Conference bishop
The bishops will begin their assignments at the organizational meeting of each agency or board after the 2020 jurisdictional and central conferences.

UMC agencies provide resources and services that equip local congregations and provide a connection for ministry throughout the world. The agencies also provide essential services and ministries beyond the scope of individual local congregations and annual conferences.

Each agency is governed by a board of directors whose members, both lay and clergy, are elected by jurisdictions and central conferences. Bishops, as assigned by the Council, also share oversight on these boards.
Media Contact: Rev. Dr. Maidstone Mulenga
Director of Communications – Council of Bishops
The United Methodist Church