COB welcomes thirteen newly elected bishops

COB graphic

The thirteen newly elected bishops of The United Methodist Church listed in order of their jurisdictions.

Press release
November 7, 2022
WASHINGTON, D.C. - The Council of Bishops (COB) of The United Methodist Church is welcoming thirteen (13) bishops who were elected during last week’s jurisdictional conferences in the United States.
“It is a joy to welcome this new class of leaders to the Council of Bishops.  I anticipate that the impact of their leadership will be felt as soon as they arrive on the scene,” said COB President Bishop Thomas J. Bickerton.
“This is a historic class that adds needed diversity to the work of our council. They also represent some of the shifts needed in the denomination at this point in our life together.   I truly look forward to the collaboration and mutual discernment that will unfold as we build trust and team work together,” Bishop Bickerton said.
The new bishops in order of their election are:
  1. Bishop Kennetha Bigham-Tsai
  2. Bishop Thomas Martin Berlin
  3. Bishop Delores J. Williamston
  4. Bishop Laura Merrill
  5. Bishop David Wilson
  6. Bishop Héctor A. Burgos-Núñez
  7. Bishop Lanette Plambeck
  8. Bishop Connie Mitchell Shelton
  9. Bishop Dan Schwerin
  10. Bishop Robin Dease
  11. Bishop Carlo A. Rapanut
  12. Bishop Cedrick Bridgeforth
  13. Bishop Dottie Escobedo-Frank
The new bishops will be formally introduced to the rest of the Council during a virtual meeting on Dec. 1, 2022.

Media Contact:

Rev. Dr. Maidstone Mulenga

Director of Communications - Council of Bishops

Click to email

(202) 748-5172 (Office)